Wernersson wins eventful Race 2 at Knutstorp

Wernersson wins eventful Race 2 at Knutstorp

04 May 2019

The second TCR Scandinavia race at Ring Knutstorp provided plenty of emotion, with a drying track and two safety car periods.
Andreas Wernersson took a light-to-flag victory, resisting the pressure from Robert Dahlgren who was later dropped from second to sixth by a penalty. As a consequence, teammates Andreas Ahlberg and Tomas Engström were classified second and third followed by a recovering Mattias Andersson.
Race 1 winner Mikaela Åhlin-Kottulinsky did not finish as she got the worst out of a clash with Tobias Brink.
Wernersson took the lead at the start, followed by his teammate Hannes Morin, Dahlgren, Ahlberg, Brink and Åhlin-Kottulinsky. The fight for the positions behind Wernersson became hot; Dahlgren was chasing Morin, while Åhlin-Kottulinsky went off after making contact with Brink on lap 4. The safety car was deployed for a couple of laps and when racing resumed, Dahlgren pushed Morin wide and moved up to second. Morin dropped one more place behind Ahlberg and then lost more positions after running wide on lap 9.
On lap 13, the safety car returned on track after Louise Frost’s Alfa Romeo Giulietta went off at T1. When the race resumed for the final four laps, Dahlgren tried in vain to steal the lead from Wernersson. Eventually he crossed the finishing line in second place, but was dropped by a ten-second penalty for his incident with Morin.
Andersson put in a great show in the final laps. After pitting for slick tyres he elbowed his way through the field and recovered to the fourth position, that became third when Engström too was hit by a penalty for an incident with Brink.
Victory also meant that Wernersson is leading the standings, two points over Ahlberg and six ahead of Åhlin-Kottulinsky.
TCR Scandinavia will return for rounds 3 and 4 at Anderstorp, on June 1 and 2.

Race 2
1. Andreas Wernesson (Brink Motorsport, Audi RS 3 LMS), 19 laps
2. Andreas Ahlberg (Micke Kågered Racing, Volkswagen Golf GTI), 3.369
3. Mattias Andersson (Honda Racing, Honda Civic FK2), 7.382
4. Tobias Brink (Brink Motorsport, Audi RS 3 LMS), 8.279
5. Tomas Engström  (Micke Kågered Racing, Volkswagen Golf GTI), 8.677

Championship points
1. Wernersson 36 pts; 2. Ahlberg 34; 3. Åhlin-Kottulinsky 30


World Sporting Consulting LTD
22 Eastcheap, 2nd Floor
London EC3M 1EU - United Kingdom

WSC Operative Office: tel +41 91 9100590, fax +41 91 9100599, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Fabio Ravaioli, Director of Communications:
tel. +41 79 5501290, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

© 2018 WSC Ltd. All Rights Reserved.

Credits: Rebster Ltd.

Privacy Policy

Cookie Policy

Don't have an account yet? Register Now!

Sign in to your account