Andersson takes maiden TCR Europe pole at Pau

Andersson takes maiden TCR Europe pole at Pau

13 May 2023

In only his second TCR Europe Qualifying, Viktor Andersson set the fastest lap around Pau’s street circuit in his MA:GP Lynk & Co 03, and will start this evening’s Race 1 from pole position. Alongside Andersson on the grid will be the Target Competition Hyundai Elantra N of Dušan Borković while a tactical decision by Tom Coronel to aim for the tenth fastest lap time means he will start tomorrow’s Race 2 from pole in his Comtoyou Racing Audi RS 3 LMS.

The twenty-minute first stage effectively gave drivers and teams another chance to finalise set-ups ahead of the decisive Q2, with the morning overcast but dry. Borković set the first competitive time (1:24.277) ahead of Lewis Brown (1:25.658) and Isaac Smith (1:25.841) in the Volcano Motorsport Audi cars. Borković and Smith then improved on the next lap with a 1:23.247 and a 1:24.620 before Kobe Pauwels split the pair with a 1:24.259. Just after the session’s halfway, Eric Cayrolle went second (1:24.145) before Smith improved (1:22.903) to go P1. Andersson then improved to go P2 (1:23.161) while Cayrolle also improved his best lap with (1:23.436) to sit in P4 behind Borković. With around five minutes remaining, Smith and Pauwels both improved with a 1:22.853 and a 1:23.038 but Borković briefly went fastest with a lap of 1:22.834 before being eclipsed by Pauwels’ 1:22.805. On the next lap, the Serbian driver edged ahead again with a 1:22.681, with Pauwels improving to 1:22.691 but remaining in second. With thirty seconds remaining, Borković again improved to 1:22.523 and then Davidovski moved into P4 (1:23.809)

In the ten-minute sprint of Q2, the first driver to manage a flying lap was Davidovski (1:25.661), with Andersson (1:1:24.510), Brown (1:24.184), Smith (1:23.938) and finally Cayrolle (1:23.577) all going quicker than the Macedonian driver. John Filippi then lapped in 1:23.109 to go P1. Andersson (1:22.034), Smith (1:22.547), Pauwels (1:22.781), Cayrolle (1:22.881) and Borković (1:22.497) then all beat the 1:23 barrier, Pauwels and Borković both improved on their best laps, although neither was able to beat Andersson’s time. With one minute remaining, Andersson set a stunning lap of 1:21.782 to firmly stake his claim on pole position for Race 1. Borković was second fastest (1:22.157) and Pauwels third (1:22.396) ahead of Smith (1:22.547) and Brown (1:22.743). Coronel was again tenth quickest (1:26.611) and so will start Race 2 from pole with Julien Nougaret (1:25.969) alongside. 

Race is due to start at 18:10 local time (CEST), with live streaming on


Pau – Qualifying

1. Viktor Andersson (MA:GP, Lynk & Co 03), 1:21.782

2. Dušan Borković (Target Competition, Hyundai Elantra N), 1:22.157

3. Kobe Pauwels (Comtoyou Racing, Audi RS 3 LMS), 1:22.396


Championship points

1. J. Filippi, 80pts; 2. T. Coronel, 80; 3. I. Smith 49


Picture: WSC Group


10 Philpot Lane, First Floor
London EC3M 8AA - United Kingdom

WSC Operative Office: tel +41 91 9100590, fax +41 91 9100599, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Fabio Ravaioli, Director of Communications:
tel. +41 79 5501290, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

© 2021 WSC Ltd. All Rights Reserved.

Credits: Rebster Ltd.

Privacy Policy

Cookie Policy

Don't have an account yet? Register Now!

Sign in to your account